Tiger Woods' thrilling 2000 win edges John Daly's 1991 win as all-time greatest PGA Championship

Published on

ST. LOUIS — Tiger Woods and Bob May’s epic duel at Valhalla Golf Club in 2000 edged John Daly’s historic 1991 triumph at Crooked Stick as the all-time greatest PGA Championship. 

“The 100 Years of Greatness” contest, shaped in an “Ultimate Bracket,” attracted voters worldwide online and through social media. The campaign, which began on July 8, encouraged golf enthusiasts to learn more about what an international media panel determined were the most compelling PGA Championships.

MORE: Complete 100 Years of Greatness results, bracket

The No. 1 all-time greatest PGA Championship was announced Sunday by CBS during its telecast of the 100th PGA Championship at Bellerive Country Club in St. Louis. 

The final-round results:

  • Tiger Woods 2000 (53.58%) vs. John Daly 1991 (46.42%)

Begun in 1916, the PGA Championship is one of the world’s premier sporting events. It annually features one of the strongest fields in golf; the most international players of any U.S. major and is viewed by audiences in 145 countries and territories reaching a half-billion households.

For more information on #PGA100, visit and follow the PGA Championship on FacebookInstagram and Twitter@PGAChampionship.