More from

Get the gear

The Open Championship returns to Carnoustie this summer.
David Cannon | Getty Images
Top News
The Open Championship future sites

The Open Championship future sites

The host courses for The Open Championship for the next four years have been determined.

Here we will take a look at each venue, including the previous years in which the course hosted The Open and who won the tournament each year.

2018: Carnoustie

The 18th green at Carnoustie.

The Open Championship returns to Carnoustie, Scotland, where Carnoustie Golf Links will host the championship for the eighth time.

The last time The Open was played at Carnoustie, Padraig Harrington won the championship following a four-hole playoff with Sergio Garcia, which completed a furious comeback on Sunday.

  • 2007: Padraig Harrington
  • 1999: Paul Lawrie
  • 1975: Tom Watson
  • 1968: Gary Player
  • 1953: Ben Hogan
  • 1937: Henry Cotton
  • 1931: Tommy Armour

2019: Royal Portrush

A view of the par-4 15th hole at Royal Portrush.

The Open will be held at Royal Portrush Golf Club in Country Antrim, Northern Ireland, for just the second time and the first time in more than half a century.

Englishman Max Faulkner won his first and only major at Royal Portrush in 1951, when he was 3-under for the tournament.

  • 1951: Max Faulkner

2020: Royal St. George's

Phil Mickelson plays the 10th hole of Royal St. George's.

For the 15th time in the history of The Open Championship, Royal St. George's Golf Club in Kent, England, will host the major in 2020.

It was the first English course to host The Open and it has been a familiar host for Tour players in the last century-plus, even despite a 32-year break from 1949 to 1981.

The last time Royal St. George's hosted The Open was in 2011, when Darren Clarke won in his 20th start in the major – four more attempts than the previously held record for most appearances at The Open by a golfer before his first win. He won by three strokes over Dustin Johnson and Phil Mickelson.

  • 2011: Darren Clarke
  • 2003: Ben Curtis
  • 1993: Greg Norman
  • 1985: Sandy Lyle
  • 1981: Bill Rogers
  • 1949: Bobby Locke
  • 1938: Reg Whitcombe
  • 1934: Henry Cotton
  • 1928: Walter Hagen
  • 1922: Walter Hagen
  • 1911: Harry Vardon
  • 1904: Jack White
  • 1899: Harry Vardon
  • 1894: John Henry Taylor

2021: St. Andrews

The 18th hole at St. Andrew's.

Three summers from now will mark the 30th time the legendary St. Andrews Links has hosted The Open.

The Open Championship has returned to Fife, Scotland, roughly every three to six years since the 1870s for one of the most unique challenges on the PGA Tour. Tiger and Jack have both won there twice.

  • 2015: Zach Johnson
  • 2010: Louis Oosthuizen
  • 2005: Tiger Woods
  • 2000: Tiger Woods
  • 1995: John Daly
  • 1990: Nick Faldo
  • 1984: Seve Ballesteros
  • 1978: Jack Nicklaus
  • 1970: Jack Nicklaus
  • 1964: Tony Lema
  • 1960: Kel Nagle
  • 1957: Bobby Locke
  • 1955: Peter Thomson
  • 1946: Sam Sned
  • 1939: Dick Burton
  • 1933: Denny Shute
  • 1927: Bobby Jones
  • 1921: Jock Hutchison
  • 1910: James Braid
  • 1905: James Braid
  • 1900: John Henry Taylor
  • 1895: John Henry Taylor
  • 1891: Hugh Kirkaldy
  • 1888: Jack Burns
  • 1885: Bob Martin
  • 1882: Willie Fernie
  • 1879: Jamie Anderson
  • 1876: Bob Martin
  • 1873: Tom Kidd