McDowell, Tseng and Langer named 2010 players of year by golf writers

graeme mcdowell
Getty Images
His victory in the U.S. Open was only one of several highlights in Graeme McDowell's career year.


Published: Friday, December 17, 2010 | 4:17 p.m.

Graeme McDowell, Yani Tseng and Bernhard Langer have been named 2010 Players of the Year by the Golf Writers Association of America.

It is the first GWAA Player of the Year awards for both all three players. They will be honored at the GWAA’s Annual Awards Dinner April 6, 2011 in Augusta, Ga.

In the closest race, McDowell received 43 percent of the votes (87 votes) for Male Player of the Year to 32 percent for Jim Furyk (61) and 25 percent for Martin Kaymer (51). Tseng received 69 percent of the vote (137 votes) for Female Player of the Year to 16 percent for Cristie Kerr (32) and Ai Miyazato had 15 percent (31). Langer received 94 percent of the vote (187 votes) for Senior Player of the Year to six percent (13) for Fred Couples.

McDowell became the first European to win the U.S. Open in 40 years and his win at Pebble Beach was one of four for the Northern Irishman. He won the decisive match for Europe at the Ryder Cup and his fourth win was a come-from-behind playoff win over Tiger Woods at the Chevron World Challenge. McDowell also won the Golf Writers Trophy (a vote of the Association of Golf Writers) and shared European Tour Player of the Year honors with Kaymer. He is the second Irishman to win Player of the Year in the last three years. Padraig Harrington won the honor in 2008

Tseng won two LPGA majors – the Kraft Nabisco Championship and Women's British Open – in her three-win season. She had eight top-10 finishes, finished fourth on the money list and was the LPGA Tour’s Rolex Player of the Year.

Langer won back-to-back majors – the Senior British Open at Carnoustie and U.S. Senior Open at Sahalee – and won five times on the Champions Tour. He led the money list, captured the season-long Charles Schwab Cup and won his third consecutive Champions Tour Player of the Year honor.

The GWAA, founded in 1946, takes an active role in protecting the interests of all golf journalists, works closely with all of golf’s major governing bodies and the World Golf Hall of Fame.



Simply the Best Gmac was this year, and no matter he does 2011 they can't take what he done 2010 away from him.