Henrik Stenson selected European golfer of year after historic finish

Henrik Stenson
Getty Images
Henrik Stenson, selected the European golfer of the year, is the first player from Sweden to win the award.
PGA.com news services

Series: European Tour

Published: Tuesday, December 17, 2013 | 7:32 p.m.
LONDON – Henrik Stenson has been selected European golfer of the year after winning the European Tour’s Race to Dubai money title and the PGA Tour’s FedExCup. 
The 37-year-old Stenson, who succeeded Rory McIlroy, is the first player from Sweden to win the award. 
In addition to his six-shot victory in the season-ending DP World Tour Championship to clinch the Race to Dubai, Stenson also won the PGA Tour’s Deutsche Bank Championship and Tour Championship to seal the FedExCup. 
"It's a big honor to be voted the European Tour Golfer of the Year," Stenson said. "It just reflects the stellar year I have had. You can call it a dream season, year of my life, whatever you want. It has been an unbelievable year and I am delighted to win this award, especially as I am the first Swede to do so.
"You look at the past winners of this award and most of the greats of European golf are on there, which just adds to the prestige of winning it. To win the FedExCup and the American Tour Championship in some style and then follow that by taking The Race to Dubai was very special."
Another highlight was his third-place finish in the PGA Championship. 
Stenson's most consistent year started at the end of last season, when he won the South African Open. 
"I'm not sure how I top it, to be honest. I am not sure many people will get the chance to do what I did this year, but I just need to keep working hard and pushing forward," he said. "The majors are the biggest goal for me now and if I can continue to play at the level I have been then I feel I can have a pretty good shot at them."
Stenson plans to begin his 2014 campaign in the Abu Dhabi HSBC Golf Championship. The world No. 3 has a stellar record in the United Arab Emirates, having won the 2006 Commercialbank Qatar Masters and the 2007 Dubai Desert Classic in addition to the 2012 DP World Tour Championship.
"2013 finished on a high in the UAE and it would be great if 2014 started on a high in the UAE," he said. "The country was a fantastic home for us for eight years and I've always enjoyed playing here."
The Abu Dhabi field is also set to include reigning British Open champion Phil Mickelson, U.S. Open champion Justin Rose, two-time major winner Rory McIlroy, former world No. 1s Luke Donald and Martin Kaymer, along with Matteo Manassero and Sergio Garcia.