Angry McIlroy tosses club into lake

Rory McIlroy
Shane Bacon on Vine
Rory McIlroy got a little hot under the collar at Trump National Doral on Friday and took it out on a long-iron.
By T.J. Auclair
PGA.com
Connect with T.J.

Series: Golf Buzz

Published: Friday, March 06, 2015 | 3:13 p.m.

If we've learned one thing over the last two days at the WGC-Cadillac Championship it's this: Trump National Doral is playing hard. Real hard.

And that's frustrating the world's best players -- perhaps none more so than world No. 1 Rory McIlroy.

RELATED: Scores from Doral | McIlroy hits drive in infrared | Flopped flop-shot

On the par-5 eighth hole, from the center of the fairway, McIlroy pulled his second shot left with a long iron and into the water.

Immediately after the ball splashed, McIlroy uncharacteristically launched his club into the water.

Check it out here (via a Shane Bacon Vine):

NBC Golf Channel on-course reporter Roger Maltbie asked McIlroy's caddie -- J.P. Fitzgerald -- which club McIlroy tossed.

According to Maltbie, Fitzgerald replied, "a Nike."

McIlroy would make bogey on the hole to drop back to even par for the round and 1 over for the tournament.

McIlroy will not be able to replace that club for this round and will have to play the final 10 holes with just 13 clubs in the bag.

The Rules of Golf state that: "If, during a stipulated round, a player's club is damaged other than in the normal course of play rendering it non-conforming or changing its playing characteristics, the club must not subsequently be used or replaced during the round."

In this case, McIlroy threw the club so far into the water it was unretrievable.

Oh, and from our friends @NoLayingUp... here's McIlroy tossing the club in the water in infrared:

 

T.J. Auclair is a Senior Interactive Producer for PGA.com and has covered professional golf since 1998, traveling to over 60 major championships. You can follow him on Twitter, @tjauclair.