NFL Hall of Famer joins PGA

Lynn Swann
PGA of America
Pro Football Hall of Fame Member Lynn Swann has been named the new Independent Director on the PGA of America Board of Directors.
By T.J. Auclair
Connect with T.J.

Series: Golf Buzz

Published: Friday, November 15, 2013 | 8:51 a.m.

Pro Football Hall of Famer Lynn Swann, who helped lead the Pittsburgh Steelers to four Super Bowl wins in the 1970s and 1980s, has been named the new Independent Director on the PGA of America Board of Directors.

Swann, who sits on the Board of Directors of several corporations and owns a marketing and consulting company, will be formally sworn in by delegates at the 97th PGA Annual Meeting, on Nov. 23, in San Diego. He replaces John Jacob, of Aventura, Fla., and will serve a three-year term.

RELATED: PGA's oldest living member -- Errie Ball -- turns 103

"The PGA of America is very pleased to welcome Lynn Swann, one of America's most celebrated athletes, to the PGA Board of Directors," said PGA President Ted Bishop. "Lynn's legendary career of performing on a global stage extends to his expertise in business, where he has connected with leaders of organizations in this country. We believe that he brings that same invaluable insight and commitment to excellence as a member of the PGA Board of Directors."

Inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2001, Swann -- a resident of Sewickley, Pa. -- earned a bachelor's degree from the University of Southern California in 1974. He was an All-American for the Trojans, including the 1972 squad that went undefeated and won the national championship. Swann was drafted by the Pittsburgh Steelers in 1974 and was a major contributor to their dynasty.

"I am looking forward to the next three years of serving The PGA of America and the game of golf," said Swann, 61. "I came to the game late in life, but hope over the next three years to help the PGA bring golf to so many more people early in life."

The PGA Board of Directors is composed of the Association's president, vice president, secretary, honorary president, and 17 directors. The directors, who each serve three-year terms, include representatives from each of The PGA's 14 districts, two Independent Directors and a member of the PGA Tour.

Follow T.J. Auclair on Twitter, @tjauclair.

T.J. Auclair is a Senior Interactive Producer for and has covered professional golf since 1998, traveling to over 60 major championships. You can follow him on Twitter, @tjauclair.