Simon Dyson's disqualification costs him twice

Simon Dyson at the BMW Masters
Getty Images
Simon Dyson was disqualified from the BMW Masters after a TV viewer called in a ruled violation.
By John Holmes

Series: Golf Buzz

Published: Saturday, October 26, 2013 | 12:16 a.m.

Simon Dyson of England was disqualified from the European Tour's BMW Masters in Shanghai on Saturday morning (Friday night in the United States) for a rules violation that has ramifications near and far.

The DQ costs Dyson a legitimate shot at the victory – and a huge payday in the $7 million tournament – seeing as how he was in second place behind leader Luke Guthrie after 36 holes. Worse, it prevents him from making a big move up the European Tour money list. 

Dyson entered the event – the first of four that make up the European Tour's version of the FedExCup playoffs known as 'The Final Series' – ranked No. 66 on the money list. Only the top 60 make it into the season-ending $8 million DP World Tour Championship at the end of November.

ASTURIAS AWARD: Jose Maria Olazabal receives Spain's highest honor

The violation occurred on the eighth hole of the second round at Lake Malaren, when Dyson marked his ball just beyond the cup. As he marked it, he made a quick move to tamp down a spot on the green directly in his line. 

''Simon Dyson has been disqualified from the BMW Masters presented by SRE Group under the rules of golf (6-6d). Simon was found to have breached rule 16-1a, which states that a player must not touch his line of putt,'' said European Tour Chief Referee John Paramor in a statement.

''Television viewers alerted the European Tour to the incident, which took place on the eighth green during the second round, and when the footage was reviewed Simon was seen to touch the line of his second putt after marking and lifting his ball on the green,'' the statement explained. ''He subsequently failed to add a two-shot penalty to his score when signing his card, and as a result has now been disqualified.''