USGA to ditch 18-hole U.S. Open playoff, switch to two-hole aggregate playoff

Tiger Woods
USGA on YouTube
It turns out that the epic playoff between Tiger Woods and Rocco Mediate in the 2008 U.S. Open at Torrey Pines will be the last of its kind. The USGA has announced it will end the customary 18-hole playoff and instead play a two-hole aggregate playoff in the case of a tie after 72 holes.
By T.J. Auclair
Connect with T.J.

Series: Golf Buzz

Published: Monday, February 26, 2018 | 12:07 p.m.

The USGA is moving away from a playoff format that -- in this day and age -- made it one of a kind in major championship golf.
Previously, when two or more players were tied after 72 holes at a U.S. Open, the tournament was then decided in an 18-hole playoff the next day.
But that has all changed. 
On Monday, Mike Davis, Executive Director of the USGA, announced that beginning in 2018, ties will be broken with a two-hole aggregate playoff in all USGA Open championships.
That consists of the U.S. Open, U.S. Women's Open, U.S. Senior Open and U.S. Senior Women's Open.
Since the inception of the U.S. Open at Newport Country Club in 1895, there have been 33 playoffs. All have been at least 18 holes.
Here's video of Davis explaining the changes:
With this move by the USGA, the Masters becomes the only men's major championship without an aggregate playoff.
Here are the playoff formats for each of the four majors now:
Masters: Sudden-death
U.S. Open: 2-hole aggregate score
Open Championship: 4-hole aggregate score
PGA Championship: 3-hole aggregate score

T.J. Auclair is a Senior Interactive Producer for and has covered professional golf since 1998, traveling to over 60 major championships. You can follow him on Twitter, @tjauclair.