World Golf Hall of Fame cancels 2014 vote, will re-evaluate induction criteria

Fred Couples in the World Golf Hall of Fame
Getty Images
Fred Couples, a World Golf Hall of Fame inductee in 2013, won't see any new inductees until 2015.
By John Holmes

Series: Golf Buzz

Published: Monday, October 07, 2013 | 9:24 p.m.

The World Golf Hall of Fame announced Monday that it will not conduct an election for a class of 2014 while it undertakes what it calls ''a comprehensive review of several of its processes.''

This ''strategic review,'' the Hall of Fame said in a statement, is ''focused on an evaluation of the criteria and process for electing/selecting all five avenues of induction and a review of the production of the annual Induction Ceremony, including date, location and presentation.''

The review is ongoing, the statement said, adding that the ''process of electing and selecting inductees and planning the Induction Ceremony takes several months and includes the coordination of the game’s professional tours, governing bodies and allied organizations.''

As a result, it said, the Hall of Fame will forego the 2014 Induction Ceremony. The 2015 Induction Ceremony is still scheduled for May 4, 2015, the Monday of The Players Championship.

CLASS OF 2013: Couples leads five into World Golf Hall of Fame

Currently, there are five ways for potential inductees to get into the World Golf Hall of Fame:

--On the PGA Tour ballot, players must be at least 40 years old, a PGA Tour member for 10 years or more and have at least 10 PGA Tour wins, two majors or two Players Championship titles. For Champions Tour players, potential inductees must have been on that tour for at least five years and have 20 or more wins on the PGA and Champions tours combined, or five majors or Players Championship wins. 

The PGA Tour Voting Body, comprised of golf journalists, historians and golf dignitaries, determines who is elected through this category each year. Election requires 65 percent of returned ballots. If no candidate hits that threshold, the nominee receiving the most votes (with at least 50 percent) is elected.

--On the International ballot, men and women candidates must be at least 40 years old, and have accumulated 50 points or more from major wins, international tour wins and participation in the Ryder Cup, Presidents Cup and Solheim Cup. The International Voting Body follows the same rules as the PGA Tour voters.

--The LPGA ballot is completely different, as it is based on a point system in which a player must have been an active LPGA Tour member for 10 years and accumulated 27 points based on LPGA Tour wins. Candidates also must have won a major championship, the Vare Trophy or Rolex Player of the Year honor.

--The Lifetime Achievement category is for people whose primary contributions have come from outside the competitive arena. The World Golf Foundation Board of Directors' Selection Committee determines each year's recipient.

--The Veterans category selects players, amateur or professional, whose careers are comparable to others who are already in the Hall of Fame. The Selection Committee also decides each year's recipient in this category.




The review may have to do with where it's held; as much or more than the selection criteria. The project that has hosted the WGHF is not owned by the tour, nor the players. Maybe the tour has decided to move it inside the Sawgrass facility they own and control. Makes more sense than letting another development get the TV exposure, press publicity and financial benefit. As we all know, it's all about the dollars.