2017 PGA Cup

Series: PGA

Published: Wednesday, September 06, 2017 | 12:55 p.m.
Dates: September 15-17, 2017
Venue: Foxhills Club & Resort | Course layout and yardages
Location: Surrey, England
Twitter Hashtag: #PGACup
Format: Identical to the Ryder Cup, play includes two days of foursomes (two-man teams in alternate shot) and four-ball (two-man teams in better ball) and a final day of singles (18 holes at match play).
Prize Money and Honors: No prize money is awarded. Members of both teams compete solely for their country and their country’s right of possession of the Llandudno International Golf Trophy.
History: The PGA Cup originated in 1973 at Pinehurst (N.C.) Country Club as a match-play competition between the top PGA club professionals from United States and Europe. It was held annually until 1984, when it was switched to a biennial event at alternating sites. The teams began with nine players, but the rosters were expanded to 10 in 1988. From 1973-88, the European team was comprised of PGA club professionals from Great Britain and Ireland. The format was changed from 1990-94, opening up qualifying spots to professionals throughout Europe. The selection process was revised in 1996 to feature only Great Britain & Ireland players.