PGA Tournament Series Starts Monday At PGA Golf Club In Port St. Lucie

By Craig Dolch
Published on

The PGA Tournament Series, featuring top PGA Professionals from across the U.S., starts Monday. It marks the 25th anniversary of when the event was first held at PGA Golf Club.
Dylan Newman of New Rochelle, N.Y., will attempt to win the money title for the third consecutive year. Newman led the money list with $16,070 in 2019 and last year he earned $13,050 to edge Omar Uresti ($11,890) of Austin, TX.
Uresti won the first two PGA Tournament Series events last year before Newman rallied by winning Event No. 3, then lost a playoff to Jupiter’s Zach Shriver in Event No. 4 and finished fourth to Danny Balin in Event No. 5. Newman has won three PGA Tournament Series events in the last two years.
“The PGA Tournament Series is something I always look forward to every year,” said Newman, a 30-year-old PGA Teaching Professional at Brae Burn Country Club in Purchase, N.Y. “I love playing in Port St. Lucie and against the best players nationwide. It would mean a lot to win the money title for the third consecutive year.”
Rob Labritz of Pound Ridge, N.Y. won Event No. 6 last year. Newman also won the low scoring title at 70.0, just ahead of Greg Koch of Orlando (70.1).
The first of six 36-hole events will be held Monday and Tuesday on the Ryder Course. Newman, Uresti, Shriver, Balin, Labritz and Koch are all entered.
The rest of the schedule:
  • Event No. 2 – Dec. 2-3 on the Dye Course
  • Event No. 3 – Dec. 6-7 on the Wanamaker Course
  • Event No. 4 – Dec. 9-10 on the Ryder Course
  • Event No. 5 – Dec 13-14 on the Dye Course
  • Event No. 6 – Dec. 16-17 on the Wanamaker Course
The overall purse of last year’s six events was $223,500 and an average of 103.9 players competed in each event.
The PGA Tournament Series debuted during the 1977-78 winter to provide more playing opportunities for PGA Professionals. In 1996, the Series became the first PGA of America-sanctioned event to be held at PGA Golf Club.
Bruce Zabriski is the all-time leader in wins, followed by Mike San Filippo (16) and Gene Fieger (15).
The PGA Tournament Series is Presented by GOLF ADVISOR.