Pinehurst Resort to Host 2020 High School Golf National Invitational August 3-5

Published on

Pinehurst Resort in North Carolina will host both the Boys and Girls 2020 High School Golf National Invitational, August 3-5. Participants will come from more than 40 states—more than 110 girls and 250 boys—to compete in a three-round, 54-hole, stroke-play format.
The High School Golf National Invitational showcases golf at the highest level, bringing together the strongest and most diverse field in high school golf from large, small, public and private high school programs across the United States. It was first played in 2019, with 300 boys and girls representing 43 states. Competitors include State Championship winning boys and girls players; the nation’s best high school golf teams; and top individuals from each state. With the loss of the spring 2020 high school golf season, this event is even more important to showcase the most talented high school golfers from across America.
The Boys and Girls National Invitational will be played on Pinehurst’s No. 6, No. 8 and No. 9 courses, and include team and individual competitions. Pinehurst Resort is steeped in tradition and has hosted some of golf’s greatest events, including the PGA Championship, Ryder Cup, U.S. Open, Women’s U.S. Open and U.S. Amateur.
“It’s really incredible to bring the 2020 High School Golf National Invitational to Pinehurst Resort, where the players can experience one of the best golf facilities in the world,” said NHSGA Manager Chris Noble. “This event is the pinnacle of high school golf and valuable to college coaches seeking hidden talent they may not see on the junior golf circuit otherwise, especially during an unprecedented year like this.”
Among the 2020 Invitational boys high school standouts (scheduled to compete):
  • TJ Baker - Rockford, Ill. - Class of 2020
  • Derek Bunce - Hilton Head, S.C. - Class of 2020
  • Ben Warian - Stillwater, Minn. - Class of 2020
  • Simon McBride - Simon, Ark. - Class of 2021
  • Todd Moyer - Cornelius, N.C. - Class of 2021
  • Ryan Bilby - Follansbee, W.V. - Class of 2021
  • Jaren Calkins - Lander, Wyo. - Class of 2021
  • Hunter Swanson - Denver - Class of 2022
  • Evan Woolsey-Reed - Shelbyville, Tenn. - Class of 2022
  • Bryan Kim - Brookeville, Md. - Class of 2023
Among the 2020 Invitational girls’ high school standouts (scheduled to compete):
  • Rylie Cook- Johnson, Kan. - Class of 2020
  • Kelley Topiwala - Matthews, N.C. - Class of 2020
  • Karlee Vardas - Lexington, S.C. - Class of 2021
  • LoraLie Cowart - Winston, Ga. - Class of 2021
  • Kamille Dimayuga - Buena Park, Calif. - Class of 2021
  • Madison Holmes - Paragould, Ark. - Class of 2021
  • Helena Noel - Tampa, Fla. - Class of 2021
  • Cybil Stillson - Nappanee, Ind. - Class of 2022
  • Taylor Sargent - Milton, W.V. - Class of 2023
  • Hannah Herbel - Bismarck, N.D. - Class of 2023
For information on the full field scheduled to compete, click here.
Last year, the Girls Invitational went down to the wire, with a two-hole playoff for the top high school teams, after South Carolina and California totaled two-day team scores of 584. The four-on-four aggregate team playoff was won with a birdie on the final hole by tournament medalist Kamille Dimayuga (Buena Park, Calif.), who shot consecutive rounds of 71, to finish with a 2-under par, 142 total.  
Virginia won the 2019 Boys Division team title with a two-day score of 581 (291-290). Second place went to Arkansas (592), followed by Pennsylvania (598) in third. Aidan Thomas from Bernalillo, N.M., fired a career-best round 65 on day one of the tournament; and followed with a 70 on day two, to win the individual medalist title with a 9-under par, 135 total.
The High School Golf National Invitational is conducted by the National High School Golf Association (NHSGA), a division of Nextgengolf, which was acquired by the PGA of America in 2019. The Invitational is supported by several partners, including the PGA of America, AJGA, Srixon, Gatorade and Junior Golf Hub.  
For the official 2020 High School Golf National Invitation program, please click here.