Cameron Tringale disqualified from PGA Championship after scorecard error

Published on
Cameron Tringale disqualified from PGA Championship after scorecard error

Cameron Tringale has been disqualified from last week’s 96th PGA Championship at Valhalla Golf Club after contacting the PGA of America Rules Committee on Friday to report a scorecard error which occurred during the final round.

"I have contacted the PGA of America and asked to be disqualified from last week’s PGA Championship at Valhalla," Tringale said. "On Sunday, I signed for a bogey 4 on the par-3 11th hole. While approaching the hole to tap in my three-inch bogey putt, the putter swung over the ball prior to tapping in. Realizing that there could be the slightest doubt that the swing over the ball should have been recorded as a stroke, I spoke with the PGA of America and shared with them my conclusion that the stroke should have been recorded. I regret any inconvenience this has caused the PGA of America and my fellow competitors in what was a wonderful championship."

RELATED: Recalculated prize money for the 2014 PGA Championship with Tringale's disqualification

Even though the competition has closed, a stroke such as this that the player determined he took but was not recorded results in a penalty of disqualification under Rule 34.1b (III).

Consequently Tringale, who finished T-33 last week, will forfeit his PGA Championship prize money and all those players finishing below him will be elevated in the final prize money standings. This will not affect the Ryder Cup Team makeup or order of final point standings.

"We are very appreciative of Cameron coming forward to inform us of this situation," PGA of America Chief Championships Officer Kerry Haigh said. "It yet again shows the great values and traditions of the game and the honesty and integrity of its competitors.”