Everything to know about the 2019 PGA Cup

By Dan McDonald
Published on

PGA of America

Since its inception in 1973, the PGA Cup has been the premier international event for PGA Professionals, who get to represent their country while cultivating a special camaraderie between their Great Britain & Ireland counterparts.
Here's everything to know about this year's PGA Cup:

When is the PGA Cup?

The 29th PGA Cup will be played Sept. 27-29

Where is the PGA Cup?

Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, Austin, Texas. This is the first PGA Cup to be hosted in Texas

Past PGA Cup results

The U.S. Team owns an all-time 17-7-4 record in the PGA Cup; is 11-1-2 on home soil and 6-6-1 overseas.

Prize Money and Honors

No prize money is awarded. Members of both teams compete solely for their country and their country’s right of possession of the Llandudno International Golf Trophy.

Follow the action

You can follow all the updates from the 29th PGA Cup on Twitter @PGACup and using the hashtag #PGACup. Coverage is also available on the PGA of America's Facebook and Instagram accounts. 

Who is competing in the 29th PGA Cup?

Competing for the U.S. team is: Danny Balin, Alex Beach, Rich Berberian Jr., Jason Caron, Ben Cook, Marty Jertson, Ben Kern, Sean McCarty, Bob Sowards and Ryan Vermeer. Captain for the U.S. side is Derek Sprague.
Competing for Team GB&I is: Robert Coles, Matthew Cort, David Dixon, Alastair Forsyth, Jordan Godwin, Craig Lee, Jason Levermore, Paul O'Hara, Richard Wallis and Alex Wrigley. Captain for the GB&I side is Cameron Clark.

2017 PGA Cup 

Team GB&I defeated Team USA 16-10 during the 28th PGA Cup held at Foxhills Club & Resort in Surrey, England. See the full coverage from 2017 here. 

PGA Cup Format

Identical to the Ryder Cup, PGA Cup play includes two days of foursomes (two-man teams in alternate shot) and four-ball (two-man teams in better ball) and a final day of singles (18 holes at match play).

History of the PGA Cup

The PGA Cup originated in 1973 at Pinehurst (N.C.) Country Club as a match-play competition between the top PGA club professionals from United States and Europe. It was held annually until 1984, when it was switched to a biennial event at alternating sites. The teams began with nine players, but the rosters were expanded to 10 in 1988. From 1973-88, the European team was comprised of PGA club professionals from Great Britain and Ireland. The format was changed from 1990-94, opening up qualifying spots to professionals throughout Europe. The selection process was revised in 1996 to feature only Great Britain & Ireland players.