Golf on TV: Golf Tournament Television Schedule

Series: Golf Buzz

Published: Thursday, January 18, 2018 | 8:45 a.m.

Here is a listing of golf-related programming on TV for this week. All times listed are ET and all schedules are subject to change.

Site: La Quinta, Calif.
Courses: Stadium Course at PGA West (Yardage: 7,113. Par: 72), Nicklaus Tournament Course at PGA West (Yardage: 7,159. Par: 72), La Quinta CC (Yardage: 7,060. Par: 72)
Purse: $5.9 million. Winner's share: $1,062,000.
Television: Thursday-Sunday, 3-7 p.m. (Golf Channel).
Defending champion: Hudson Swafford.
FedEx Cup leader: Patton Kizzire.
Notes: Phil Mickelson makes his 2018 debut. He has not won since the 2013 British Open. ... Jon Rahm at No. 3 is the highest-ranked player in the field. Rahm and Brian Harman are the only players from the top 20. ... Kizzire is among 10 players who are in the first three tournaments of the year. The group includes Kevin Kisner and Jason Dufner. ... Swafford has had only three top 10s since his victory last year — Bay Hill, Houston Open and Bridgestone Invitational. ... John Daly has received a sponsor's exemption. He joins Lee Janzen and Mark Brooks as PGA Tour Champions members in the field. ... Two-time Masters champion Bubba Watson is making his first start of the year. Watson has slipped to No. 93 in the world ranking and is nearly two years removed from his last victory. ... Adam Hadwin shot a 59 last year, the second sub-60 score in tournament history. David Duval had a 59 in the final round when he won in 1999.
Next week: Farmers Insurance Open.
Site: Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates.
Course: Abu Dhabi GC. Yardage: 7,583. Par: 72.
Purse: $3 million.
Television: Thursday-Friday, 2-8 a.m. (Golf Channel); Saturday-Sunday, 3:30-8 a.m. (Golf Channel).
Defending champion: Tommy Fleetwood.
Last tournament: Chris Paisley won the BMW South African Open.
Race to Dubai leader: N/A
Notes: Rory McIlroy makes his season debut after coping with a rib injury most of last year. He hasn't played since the British Masters and has slipped to No. 11 in the world ranking. ... Abu Dhabi and the Scottish Open had the strongest fields of all regular European Tour events last year. ... Dustin Johnson is playing for the second time. He was runner-up a year ago. ... The field has three of the top 10 with Johnson, Justin Rose and Henrik Stenson. Also playing are Matt Kuchar and Paul Casey. ... Bryson DeChambeau has received a sponsor's exemption. ... Chris DiMarco won the inaugural Abu Dhabi Championship in 2006. ... Rickie Fowler in 2016 is the only other American winner of the tournament. ... Casey and Martin Kaymer are two-time winners of the event.
Next week: Omega Dubai Desert Classic.
Site: Ka'upulehu-Kona, Hawaii.
Course: Hualalai GC. Yardage: 7,107. Par: 72.
Purse: $1.8 million. Winner's share: $300,000.
Television: Friday-Sunday, 7-10 p.m. (Golf Channel).
Defending champion: Bernhard Langer.
Last tournament: Kevin Sutherland won the Schwab Cup Championships.
Notes: The 44-man field is for winners from the last two seasons, senior major champions since 2013, eight special invitations based on PGA Tour victories and majors, and Hall of Fame members who played at least eight times on the PGA Tour Champions last year. ... Langer is a three-time winner of the event. ... Langer's seven victories last year gave him 36 on the PGA Champions, nine short of the record held by Hale Irwin. ... Jerry Kelly and Vijay Singh are in the field. Both played last week in the Sony Open. Kelly tied for 14th. Singh missed the cut. ... Fred Couples and Tom Watson are in the field. Also playing is Peter Jacobsen.
Next tournament: Boca Raton Championship on Feb. 9-11.
Site: Great Abaco, Bahamas.
Course: The Abaco Club on Winding Bay. Yardage: 7,111. Par: 72.
Purse: $600,000. Winner's share: $108,000.
Television: Sunday, noon-2 p.m. (Golf Channel); Monday-Wednesday, 2-5 p.m. (Golf Channel).
Defending champion: Andrew Landry.
Next tournament: Panama Championship on Feb. 1-4.
This article was written by The Associated Press from The Associated Press and was legally licensed through the NewsCred publisher network. Please direct all licensing questions to