Championship Coverage

Get the gear

Top News
How to qualify for the PGA Championship

How to qualify for the PGA Championship

There are 12 ways that players are eligible for the PGA Championship. Here is the full breakdown of eligibility requirements set by the PGA of America:

1. All former PGA Champions

Every former winner of the PGA Championship that is willing and able is eligible to compete in the PGA Championship.

2. Winners of the last five Masters (2015-19)

Patrick Reed, Sergio Garcia, Danny Willett, Jordan Spieth and Bubba Watson hold exemptions in this category.

3. Winners of the last five U.S. Opens (2014-18)

With Brooks Koepka winning the 2018 PGA Championship and the past two U.S. Open titles, Dustin Johnson and Martin Kaymer are the two golfers able to use this exemption.

4. Winners of the last five Open Championships (2014-18)

Francesco Molinari, Henrik Stenson and Rory McIlroy earn their way into the field by way of their Open Championship victories.

5. Winners of the last three Players Championships (2017-19)

Webb Simpson and Kim Si-woo are eligible for the 2019 PGA Championship.

6. The top 15 finishers at the 2018 PGA Championship

The top 15 finishers and ties from the 2018 PGA Championship at Bellerive are eligible for the 2019 PGA Championship. Here was the final leaderboard from 2018.

7. The top 20 finishers at the PGA Professional Championship.

The top 20 finishers from the PGA Professional Championship are eligible to compete at Bethpage. This year's PGA Professional Championship will be held at Belfair of Bluffton, South Carolina. Ryan Vermeer is the defending champion. Full coverage of the Championship can be found here.

8. Year-to-date PGA Championship Points leaders

The top 70 players who earned the most PGA Championship Points from the 2018 The Players Championship through the Wells Fargo Championship.

9. 2018 Ryder Cup team members

Playing Members of the 2018 United States and the European Ryder Cup Teams, provided that they remain with the top 100 of the Official World Golf Rankings as of May 5, 2019

10. Winners of PGA Tour-approved tournaments

Winners of PGA TOUR co-sponsored or approved tournaments, whose victories are considered official, from the 2018 The Players Championship to the 2019 PGA Championship.

11. Special invitations

The PGA of America reserves the right to invite additional players not included in the categories listed above.

12. Completing the field

If necessary to complete the field, those players beyond the top 70 players who have earned the most PGA Championship Points from the 2018 The Players Championship through the 2019 PGA Tour event ending May 5, 2019 in order of their position on such list.

The PGA Championship points list is compiled of Official Money earned in PGA TOUR events within the defined period in 8 and 12 above and is available on