Phil Mickelson calls two-stoke penalty on himself at Greenbrier Classic

Phil Mickelson was assessed a two-stroke penalty at the Greenbrier Classic.
PGA Tour
Phil Mickelson was assessed a two-stroke penalty at the Greenbrier Classic.
By
Andy Wittry | PGA.com

Series: Golf Buzz

Published: Sunday, July 08, 2018 | 12:59 p.m.

Phil Mickelson was assessed a penalty for the second tournament in a row, as he self-reported a two-stroke penalty after consulting with a rules official at the Greenbrier Classic on Sunday after he tapped down the fescue in front of the tee box on the 7th hole. He recorded a double bogey on the par-4 hole.

Watch Mickelson's penalty below.

MORE: Tiger and Phil planning $10 million rivalry event

The penalty comes three weeks after Mickelson's last event, the U.S. Open, where he intentionally took a two-shot penalty on the 13th green during the third round, when he hit his ball while it was still moving to prevent it from rolling down the green.

He apologized afterwards in a statement released by his representatives: "My anger and frustration got the best of me last weekend. I'm embarrassed and disappointed by my actions. It was clearly not my finest moment and I'm sorry."